Best Tool Chest for Home Garage UK (2026): 7 Compared
Last updated 24 October 2026. Prices and ratings checked on Amazon UK that day.
Looking for the best tool chest for a home garage in the UK? This is a comparison of Amazon UK listing data. We compared seven steel tool chests and roller cabinets priced from £94.99 to £129.99 on 24 October 2026. Our pick, based on the listings, is the HOMCOM 6-drawer tool chest and cabinet combo (£113.99, 4.4 from 355 ratings): a removable top chest over a roller cabinet, listed at 108cm high with a 33cm depth, EVA-lined drawers, two brakes and a listed 60kg capacity. The cheapest is the us pro tools 9-drawer chest (£94.99), but it is a top chest only, not a roller cabinet.
Short answer: the best tool chest for a home garage in the UK
Based on the Amazon UK listings we compared, the best tool chest for a home garage is the HOMCOM 6-drawer combo (£113.99, 4.4 from 355 ratings), which gives you a top chest and a roller cabinet in one, with wheels, brakes and a key lock on the top chest.
- Our pick, based on listed features and ratings: the HOMCOM 6-drawer combo (£113.99, 4.4 from 355 ratings), 61.6 x 33 x 108cm and listed at 25kg.
- Most ratings: the HOMCOM 5-drawer cabinet (£101.99, 4.4 from 439 ratings), a single-height roller cabinet at 68 x 33 x 75cm.
- Seven drawers on wheels (the Excel also lists seven): the DURHAND 7-drawer cabinet (£109.00, 4.2 from 255 ratings), with a listed 150kg total load and 15kg per drawer, and ball-bearing slides in its description.
- Ball-bearing slides listed: the DURHAND, Excel, Draper, Dirty Pro Tools and us pro tools listings all say so, but the two HOMCOM listings do not mention slide type in the text we read.
- Combined roller cabinet and top chest with a listed lifetime warranty: the Draper 19563 (£128.99, 4.3 from 70 ratings), listed with a lifetime warranty.
- Before you buy: measure your space, and check whether the listing is a roller cabinet, a top chest or both.
Jump to: What to look for · Tool chests to consider · Comparison table · How we chose these tool chests · FAQs · Verdict
What to look for in a tool chest for a home garage
Listings use “tool chest” and “tool cabinet” loosely, so check what you are getting. These are the details worth comparing:
- Roller cabinet, top chest or combo: the HOMCOM 6-drawer and the Draper 19563 are combos (top chest plus roller cabinet). The HOMCOM 5-drawer, DURHAND, Excel and Dirty Pro are single roller cabinets. The us pro tools 9-drawer is listed at 60 x 26 x 38.5cm with no wheels listed, although one bullet calls it a roller cabinet, so we treat it as a top chest.
- Size: listed heights run from 38.5cm (us pro tools top chest) to 108cm (HOMCOM combo and Draper combo). Check the width and depth against your garage space and, for a roller cabinet, against the route to where you will use it.
- Drawer slides: the DURHAND, Excel, Draper, Dirty Pro and us pro tools listings say ball-bearing slides or runners. The two HOMCOM listings do not mention slide type in the text we read.
- Load limits: the listings state capacities in different ways (per drawer, total or both), so compare like with like. The HOMCOM 5-drawer lists 15kg per drawer, with 75kg in the specification table and 100kg for the top in its description. The DURHAND lists 15kg per tier and 150kg total, the HOMCOM combo 60kg, and the Excel 25kg in its specification table but a 15kg maximum in its safety warning.
- Locking and wheels: most list a key lock, and most of the roller cabinets list four wheels, with two locking on the HOMCOM 5-drawer and DURHAND, two brakes on the HOMCOM combo and two of four with parking brakes on the Excel. The Dirty Pro lists castors with a locking wheel, and no wheel count.
- Assembly: the HOMCOM, DURHAND and us pro tools listings say assembly is required. The specification tables for the Draper, Dirty Pro and Excel say no assembly is required.
- Weight and stability: listed item weights run from 23kg to 30kg. The Draper page carries a safety warning about the cabinet being heavy and unstable if not fitted correctly and about care when opening and closing drawers, so follow the manufacturer’s instructions for loading and moving any of these.
The 7 tool chests for a home garage in the UK, compared
These are ordered by price. Labels describe what each listing says, and ratings are shown with their sample sizes. See how we chose these tool chests for the method.
us pro tools 9-drawer chest: cheapest, top chest only

Price: £94.99 | Amazon rating: 4.4 from 89 ratings
The us pro tools chest is the cheapest here, and the only one we treat as a top chest rather than a roller cabinet, although one bullet calls it a “roller cabinet”. The listing describes nine drawers with ball-bearing slides and drawer liners, an internal key locking system and a 12-month warranty (terms apply). It lists 60 x 26 x 38.5cm and 30kg, and says assembly is required. It is sold by TOOLCLUB, and the listing does not mention wheels, so check whether you would need a bench or a separate stand. The bullets give few details beyond the slides, liners and lock.
Check the us pro tools 9-drawer chest on Amazon UK
HOMCOM 5-drawer cabinet: most ratings

Price: £101.99 | Amazon rating: 4.4 from 439 ratings
The HOMCOM 5-drawer cabinet has the largest rating sample here. The listing describes five medium drawers, a top EVA mat, four wheels (two lockable) with a side handle, a powder-coated steel structure and a lock with two keys. It lists 75cm high x 68cm long x 33cm wide in the bullets (an item-dimensions row gives 72cm), 23.3kg and a maximum load of 15kg per drawer, with 75kg in the specification table and 100kg for the top in the description. Assembly is required, and it is sold by Aosom MHSTAR UK.
Check the HOMCOM 5-drawer cabinet on Amazon UK
DURHAND 7-drawer cabinet: seven drawers, 150kg listed total load

Price: £109.00 | Amazon rating: 4.2 from 255 ratings
The DURHAND has seven drawers on a wheeled steel frame. The listing describes four wheels, two of them lockable, a side handle, EVA mats in each drawer, a key lock with two keys, and a maximum load of 150kg in total and 15kg per tier. The bullets give 69 x 33 x 75cm and 23kg, and the description lists ball-bearing slides, while the specification table also lists item dimensions of 67 x 37 x 71cm, so check the size. Assembly is required. The listing says seven drawers at 15kg each, which adds up to 105kg, so treat the 150kg total with care.
Check the DURHAND 7-drawer cabinet on Amazon UK
HOMCOM 6-drawer combo: our pick, top chest and roller cabinet

Price: £113.99 | Amazon rating: 4.4 from 355 ratings
The HOMCOM combo is a removable top chest over a bottom cabinet, which the listing says you can use together as a mobile workstation or separately. It describes six drawers plus one large bottom cabinet, a 33cm depth intended to let power tools such as drills and grinders lie flat, EVA padding in every drawer, a central key lock on the top chest, four caster wheels with a side handle and two brakes, and a metal frame supporting up to 60kg. It lists 61.6 x 33 x 108cm and 25kg, and says assembly is required with labelled hardware. It is sold by Aosom MHSTAR UK.
Check the HOMCOM 6-drawer combo on Amazon UK
Excel 7-drawer chest: ball-bearing slides, no assembly required (specification)

Price: £119.00 | Amazon rating: 4.3 from 57 ratings
The Excel lists ball-bearing slides on seven drawers (two small and five large). The listing describes central locking with a single key, a powder-coated steel frame, non-slip mats, four wheels including two with parking brakes, and a side handle. The specification table lists 67 x 28 x 62cm and 25kg with a 25kg weight capacity, while the description gives 616 x 330 x 658mm and the safety warning says not to exceed 15kg, so check both the size and the load with the seller. The specification says no assembly is required. It is sold by Excel Tools, and the rating sample is small.
Check the Excel 7-drawer chest on Amazon UK
Draper 19563 combined roller cabinet and tool chest: lifetime warranty listed

Price: £128.99 | Amazon rating: 4.3 from 70 ratings
The Draper 19563 is a combined roller cabinet and top chest in blue. The listing describes a frame of 0.7mm steel minimum, six drawers (three at 40mm and three at 84mm), two lockable doors and two keys, and Draper’s lifetime warranty. It lists 616 x 330 x 1078mm including castors and a 70kg weight in the bullets, while the specification table lists 30kg item weight and a 70kg maximum capacity, so the 70kg figure may be the capacity rather than the weight. The manufacturer section lists ball-bearing runners on the drawers. The specification lists assembly as not required, and it is sold by Tools-House. The lifetime warranty is the listing’s own claim.
Check the Draper 19563 on Amazon UK
Dirty Pro Tools 5-drawer roll cab: side tool tray, ball-bearing slides

Price: £129.99 | Amazon rating: 4.4 from 32 ratings
The Dirty Pro Tools roll cab is the most expensive here and has the smallest rating sample. The listing describes a side tool tray, ball-bearing slide drawers, anti-slip mats, drawer dividers and heavy-duty castors with a locking wheel on a steel frame with a glossy finish. It lists 616 x 330 x 760mm with castors on and 29kg, and says no assembly is required. It is sold by D Pro Tools UK. It lists castors with a locking wheel and does not give a wheel count, or a drawer or total weight limit, in the text we read.
Check the Dirty Pro Tools 5-drawer roll cab on Amazon UK
Home garage tool chest comparison table (UK): type, size, slides and load
The table below compares the seven tool chests by price, rating sample, type, listed size and the slide, load and assembly details each listing states.
| Model | Price (24 Oct 2026) | Rating (count) | Type | Drawers | Listed size W x D x H (cm) | Ball-bearing slides | Listed load | Assembly |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| us pro tools 9-drawer chest | £94.99 | 4.4 (89) | Top chest (bullet says “roller cabinet”) | 9 | 60 x 26 x 38.5 | Yes | Not stated | Required |
| HOMCOM 5-drawer cabinet | £101.99 | 4.4 (439) | Roller cabinet | 5 | 68 x 33 x 75 | Not stated | 15kg per drawer; 75kg spec; 100kg top | Required |
| DURHAND 7-drawer cabinet | £109.00 | 4.2 (255) | Roller cabinet | 7 | 69 x 33 x 75 | Yes | 15kg per tier; 150kg total | Required |
| HOMCOM 6-drawer combo | £113.99 | 4.4 (355) | Top chest + roller cabinet | 6 + cabinet | 61.6 x 33 x 108 | Not stated | 60kg | Required |
| Excel 7-drawer chest | £119.00 | 4.3 (57) | Roller cabinet | 7 | 67 x 28 x 62 (spec); 61.6 x 33 x 65.8 (description) | Yes | 25kg spec; 15kg warning | Not required (spec) |
| Draper 19563 combo | £128.99 | 4.3 (70) | Top chest + roller cabinet | 6 + doors | 61.6 x 33 x 107.8 | Yes | 70kg (listed) | Not required (spec) |
| Dirty Pro Tools 5-drawer roll cab | £129.99 | 4.4 (32) | Roller cabinet | 5 | 61.6 x 33 x 76 | Yes | Not stated | Not required (spec) |
How we chose these tool chests
We compared seven steel tool chests and roller cabinets from Amazon UK listings aimed at a home garage or workshop, across a range of drawer counts, types and prices, from a top chest to combined top chest and roller cabinets. We took prices, ratings, sizes and features from the Amazon UK listings on 24 October 2026, and the figures here are the listings’ own claims. We chose our pick by weighing the listed type (the combo gives you a top chest and a roller cabinet), the rating and its sample size, and the features each listing states, so it is a judgement made from the listing data. Ratings are shown with their sample size: the Dirty Pro Tools has 32 ratings, the Excel 57 and the Draper 70, so treat those as early signals. Sellers vary: the HOMCOM is sold by Aosom MHSTAR UK, the us pro tools by TOOLCLUB, the Excel by Excel Tools, the Draper by Tools-House and the Dirty Pro Tools by D Pro Tools UK. Listings sometimes contradict themselves (the DURHAND size and load, the Draper weight, the Excel size and load, and the HOMCOM 5-drawer width and load), so confirm details with the seller before you order. Prices change often, so use the links to see the current price. We may update this guide when prices, ratings or availability change.
Home garage tool chest FAQs (UK)
What is the best tool chest for a home garage in the UK?
Our pick, based on the listings, is the HOMCOM 6-drawer combo (£113.99, 4.4 from 355 ratings), a removable top chest over a roller cabinet with a listed 60kg capacity and two brakes. The HOMCOM 5-drawer cabinet (£101.99) has the most ratings.
What is the difference between a tool chest and a roller cabinet?
In these listings, a top chest sits on a bench or on a cabinet, while a roller cabinet has wheels and stands on the floor. The HOMCOM 6-drawer and Draper 19563 combine both, and the us pro tools 9-drawer is a top chest only.
Which tool chests have ball-bearing drawer slides?
The DURHAND, Excel, Draper, Dirty Pro Tools and us pro tools listings say ball-bearing slides or runners. The two HOMCOM listings do not mention the slide type in the text we read.
What is the cheapest tool chest here?
The us pro tools 9-drawer chest, at £94.99 on 24 October 2026, but it is a top chest only. The cheapest roller cabinet is the HOMCOM 5-drawer at £101.99.
How much does a tool chest for a home garage cost in the UK?
On Amazon UK on 24 October 2026, the seven listings we compared were priced from £94.99 to £129.99. The roller cabinets ran from £101.99 (HOMCOM 5-drawer) to £129.99 (Dirty Pro Tools), and prices change often.
What size tool chest do I need for a home garage?
Listed heights run from 38.5cm (the us pro tools top chest) to about 108cm (the two combos). Listed depths are mostly 33cm, with 26cm for the us pro tools and 28cm in the Excel specification. Measure your space and the route to it, and compare each listing’s own dimensions, because several listings contradict themselves.
Do these tool chests need assembling?
The HOMCOM, DURHAND and us pro tools listings say assembly is required. The specification tables for the Excel, Draper and Dirty Pro Tools say it is not.
How much weight can these tool chests hold?
The listings give limits in different ways: 15kg per drawer (HOMCOM 5-drawer, DURHAND), 150kg total (DURHAND), 60kg (HOMCOM combo), 25kg in the specification and 15kg in the warning (Excel) and 70kg (Draper). Check the limit for the chest you choose and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.
Verdict: which tool chest to buy for a home garage
Check the type and the size first. The HOMCOM 6-drawer combo (£113.99, 4.4 from 355 ratings) is our pick, based on its top chest and cabinet in one, its 33cm depth and its listed brakes and capacity (a listing claim). For the most ratings, the HOMCOM 5-drawer (£101.99) is the one, and for seven drawers on wheels, the DURHAND (£109.00). The Excel (£119.00) and Dirty Pro Tools (£129.99) list ball-bearing slides and no assembly in their specifications, the Draper 19563 (£128.99) is the combo with a listed lifetime warranty and ball-bearing runners, and the us pro tools (£94.99) is a top chest only, so you will need a bench. Check each listing’s size and limits before you order.
Affiliate disclosure: The Motoring World may earn a commission if you buy through links to Amazon UK, at no extra cost to you. We link to Amazon UK; prices may differ elsewhere.
Prices, ratings and specifications were taken from Amazon UK listings on 24 October 2026 and may have changed.
