Best Dual Action Polisher for Beginners UK (2026 Guide)

By The Motoring World · 21 October 2026

Last updated 21 October 2026. Prices and ratings checked on Amazon UK that day.

For a first dual action polisher, the KATSU 850W (£39.99) is the cheapest corded option here, and the Innsky cordless kit (£49.99) is the cheapest cordless one, with two batteries and a 21-piece kit. If you already own Ryobi 18V ONE+ batteries, the Ryobi R18P-0 (£81.99, bare tool) has an 8mm orbit and the highest rating of the cordless options (4.7 from 540 ratings). We compared seven polishers from £39.99 to £102.73 on Amazon UK on 21 October 2026, on orbit, pad size, cable or battery and what is in the box.

Listings often contradict themselves on weight and watts, so this guide flags where they do. Prices and ratings change often, so confirm the current price on the product page.

Jump to: Quick picks · Comparison table · Buying guide · How we compiled this shortlist · FAQs · Which to buy

Quick picks: best dual action polishers for beginners in the UK

These labels describe what each polisher is listed with. See how we compiled this shortlist for the method.

Dual action polishers compared: price, power, orbit and pad size

Dual action polishers on Amazon UK, 21 October 2026
Model Price (21 Oct 2026) Amazon rating (number of ratings) Power Orbit Pad size Cable or battery
KATSU 850W £39.99 4.5 (262) 850W 8mm 150mm 3m cable
Innsky cordless 6-inch £49.99 4.1 (12,167)* Cordless, 21V Not stated 6 inch 2 x 21V 2000mAh batteries
Draper 125mm 650W £59.98 4.4 (138) 650W Not stated 125mm 5m cable
Draper Storm Force 150mm £74.68 4.7 (31) 900W Not stated 150mm 5m cable
Ryobi R18P-0 £81.99 4.7 (540) Cordless, 18V 8mm 125mm Battery and charger not included
V2 DAS-6 650W £92.85 4.7 (32) 650W 9mm Fits 5 and 6 inch pads 5m cable
SPTA 15mm £102.73 4.6 (826) 900W 15mm 125mm and 150mm pads 4m cable

*The Innsky listing shows 12,167 ratings but gives a first-available date of 11 November 2025, so we cannot tell from the page how its ratings were collected. The Draper Storm Force (31) and V2 (32) scores rest on small numbers of ratings. Power, orbit, speed and kit contents are manufacturer claims from each Amazon UK listing.

How to choose a dual action polisher: UK buying guide

What is the difference between a dual action and a rotary polisher?

A rotary polisher spins the pad on a fixed axis. A dual action (DA) polisher spins the pad and also oscillates it in a small orbit, and many listings call this random orbital. Makers of dual action machines say the oscillation reduces the risk of heat build-up and paint damage, and dual action polishers are commonly recommended for beginners. Any polisher can damage paint if misused, so follow the maker’s instructions. Several listings in this guide describe themselves as dual action or random orbital, and the Silverline 1200W sander polisher, a mains sander/polisher listed at 800 to 3,500rpm with a 180mm pad and not described as dual action, is left out of the shortlist.

What does throw or orbit size mean?

The orbit, or throw, is the size of the small circle the pad moves through, measured in millimetres. Makers and detailers commonly say a larger throw covers more area per pass and a smaller one suits tighter curves. The listings here quote 8mm (KATSU and Ryobi), 9mm (V2) and 15mm (SPTA). The Draper and Innsky listings do not give an orbit, so check the manufacturer’s page if that matters to you.

Corded or cordless polisher?

Corded polishers give consistent power without batteries to charge. The KATSU, Draper and V2 listings give cable lengths of 3m to 5m, and the SPTA is listed with a 4m cable. Cordless tools such as the Innsky and the Ryobi remove the cable, but runtime depends on the battery. The Innsky listing says its two 21V 2000mAh batteries give up to one hour of total runtime depending on workload and speed, and the Ryobi is sold without a battery or charger, so it only makes sense if you already own Ryobi 18V ONE+ batteries.

What pad size should you choose?

Polishers are usually described by backing plate size, commonly 125mm (5 inch) or 150mm (6 inch). The pads that fit are normally a little larger than the plate, so check the pad maker’s guidance. The Draper 125mm, Ryobi and the SPTA’s 125mm sponge suit a 125mm class machine, and the KATSU, Draper Storm Force and Innsky are named or listed as 150mm or 6 inch. The V2 says it fits 5-inch, 6-inch and 6.5-inch pads. Check that any pads you buy match the backing plate on your machine, and that the plate thread suits the polisher.

Do watts matter on a polisher?

Less than the listings suggest. The corded models here list 650W to 900W, but orbit, speed range and backing plate size tell you more about how a polisher behaves. Many guides treat speed control and a soft start, which the KATSU listing mentions, as more useful for a first machine than raw wattage.

What is in the box?

Kits differ. The Innsky lists 21 pieces including flat and wave sponge pads, wool pads and a charger. The KATSU, Draper and Ryobi listings include one to three pads. The V2 listing copy describes a kit with two 5-inch pads and two backing plates, but the option listed here is the machine-only version, and the SPTA includes 125mm and 150mm sponges with a removable D-handle and side handle. Compounds and polishes are not included in any of the listings we read, so budget for those separately. Follow the polish maker’s instructions for which pad to use with it.

How do you polish a car for the first time?

Follow the instructions supplied with your polisher, pads and polish. Manufacturers’ instructions for polishers, pads and polish usually cover the steps, and the usual advice for beginners is to wash and dry the paint, tape off trim, try the process on a small hidden area first, start on a low speed with light pressure, keep the pad flat to the panel and work in small sections. Take extra care on damaged or repainted panels, and many guides also advise wearing eye protection. Follow the maker’s instructions and safety information for your tools and products. For a valuable or very thin paint finish, consider asking a professional detailer.

Pads and compounds: what do you need to buy as well?

None of the seven listings includes a compound or polish, so budget for those separately. The Draper listing pages show a Meguiar’s Ultimate Compound (450ml) among the items bought together with the polisher, which is a purchase association rather than a recommendation. Pads must match your backing plate: the KATSU has a 150mm plate with a 5/16 inch 24UNF thread, the V2 takes 5, 6 and 6.5 inch pads, and the Ryobi uses a 125mm hook-and-loop plate. The kits include sponge pads (the Innsky also lists wool pads), and the Ryobi lists three pads. Follow the pad and polish maker’s guidance on which pad to pair with which product.

KATSU 850W Dual Action Polisher: the lowest price here

KATSU 850W 150mm dual action car polisher with foam pad

Price: £39.99  |  Amazon rating: 4.5 from 262 ratings

The KATSU is the cheapest polisher in this guide. The listing describes an 850W copper motor with a soft start, an 8mm orbit, a 2,500 to 5,800rpm variable speed range and a 3m cable, with a 150mm foam pad included. The listing gives a 150mm backing plate (5/16 inch 24UNF thread) and one 150mm foam pad, but no weight, so check that with the seller. If the 3m cable does not reach, check the polisher’s manual for extension lead advice rather than guessing.

Check the KATSU 850W on Amazon UK

Innsky Cordless 6-Inch Polisher: kit with two batteries

Innsky cordless 6-inch dual action car polisher kit with two batteries

Price: £49.99  |  Amazon rating: 4.1 from 12,167 ratings (see note on how ratings were collected)

The Innsky is the lowest-priced cordless option here. The listing describes a 6-inch dual action polisher with two 21V 2000mAh batteries, eight speeds from 2,800 to 6,200rpm, and a 21-piece kit with flat and wave sponge pads, wool pads, sanding papers, cloths, gloves and an apron. It quotes up to an hour of total runtime depending on workload and speed, and the listing contradicts itself on weight: a bullet says 3.3 lb while the specification table lists 2.66kg. The orbit is not stated. It has a very large number of ratings but the lowest score here (4.1), and the listing is dated November 2025, so the rating may not be specific to this exact version.

Check the Innsky cordless polisher on Amazon UK

Draper 125mm Dual Action Polisher (650W): corded and compact

Draper 01816 125mm dual action polisher in blue

Price: £59.98  |  Amazon rating: 4.4 from 138 ratings

The Draper 01816 is a no-frills corded model. The listing describes a 650W dual action polisher with variable speed, a 125mm backing pad, a polishing sponge and a 5m cable with a UK plug. The specification table gives a weight of 2.98kg. The listing does not state an orbit or a speed range, so compare it with the others on those points before you buy.

Check the Draper 125mm polisher on Amazon UK

Draper Storm Force 150mm Dual Action Polisher (900W)

Draper 01817 Storm Force 150mm dual action polisher in blue

Price: £74.68  |  Amazon rating: 4.7 from 31 ratings (small sample)

The Storm Force is the larger Draper. The listing describes a 900W polisher with a 150mm pad, variable speed, constant electronics, an adjustable D-handle, a backing pad, a polishing sponge and a 5m cable. It lists a 24-month parts and 12-month labour warranty, and a top speed of 6,400rpm in the specification table. The specification table gives a weight of 1kg, which looks low next to the 2.98kg of the smaller Draper, so check the weight with the seller if it matters to you. The 4.7 score rests on only 31 ratings.

Check the Draper Storm Force on Amazon UK

Ryobi R18P-0 18V Polisher: bare tool for ONE+ owners

Ryobi R18P-0 18V ONE+ cordless polisher bare tool

Price: £81.99  |  Amazon rating: 4.7 from 540 ratings

The Ryobi is the best-rated cordless option here, but it is sold as a bare tool. The listing says the battery and charger are excluded and that it works with all Ryobi 18V ONE+ batteries and chargers. It describes a 2,500 to 7,500rpm variable speed range, an 8mm orbit, a 125mm hook-and-loop backing pad and three polishing pads in the box, with a 2.12kg weight. If you do not already own ONE+ batteries, add the cost of a battery and charger to the price.

Check the Ryobi R18P-0 on Amazon UK

V2 DAS-6 650W Dual Action Polisher: 9mm orbit, 5m cable

V2 DAS-6 650W dual action polisher kit with pads

Price: £92.85  |  Amazon rating: 4.7 from 32 ratings (small sample)

The V2 is described as an introductory dual action polisher. The listing gives a 650W motor, a 9mm orbit, six speeds from 2,000 to 6,500rpm, a 5m cable and a 1.75kg weight, and says it fits 5-inch, 6-inch and 6.5-inch pads with a 5/16 inch thread. It also lists a one-year UK manufacturer warranty. This ASIN is the “Machine Only” option: the page’s kit text (two 5-inch pads, 5-inch and 6-inch backing plates) describes the separate Intro Kit and Complete Kit options, so check what comes in the box before you order. The 4.7 score rests on 32 ratings.

Check the V2 DAS-6 on Amazon UK

SPTA 15mm Orbit Polisher: longest orbit of the seven

SPTA 900W 15mm orbit car polisher with D-handle and side handle

Price: £102.73  |  Amazon rating: 4.6 from 826 ratings

The SPTA is the most expensive polisher here and the only one with a 15mm orbit, which the listing calls a long-range orbit. It describes a 900W motor, a six-speed dial (2,000 to 5,200rpm no-load), constant power with a smooth start, a removable D-handle and side handle, a 4m cable, and 125mm and 150mm polishing sponges. Two details do not agree: the included-components line says 780W while the title and specification say 900W, and the specification table lists a 5.7kg weight, which looks high for a hand-held polisher. Check both with the seller. The listing also says the manufacturer warranty will not apply to this ASIN and points to Amazon’s return policy.

Check the SPTA 15mm polisher on Amazon UK

How we compiled this shortlist

This is a research-based shortlist. Everything above comes from Amazon UK listings and manufacturer claims on those pages, checked on 21 October 2026, apart from the general buying advice.

We started with Amazon UK, where most British buyers will shop, and looked at dual action and random orbital car polishers sold as complete machines or, in the Ryobi’s case, as a bare tool. We left out rotary polishers and sander-polishers, 110V and US-voltage models, polishing pads and compounds sold on their own, mini cordless detailing tools, and listings with very little detail to compare. We compared each listing’s stated specifications, the manufacturer’s own claims on that page, and the customer rating and number of ratings shown at the time, and included a spread of prices from £39.99 to £102.73. We also left out premium-priced machines: the Rupes dual action models we saw were £340 or more.

Ratings move over time, and the number of ratings matters: the Innsky (12,167), SPTA (826) and Ryobi (540) have the most, while the Draper Storm Force (31) and V2 (32) have the fewest. Prices were accurate on 21 October 2026 and change frequently, so use the links to see the current price. We will update this guide when prices, ratings or availability change.

Dual action polisher FAQs

What is the best dual action polisher for beginners in the UK?

It depends on budget and whether you want a cable. Of the seven models compared here on 21 October 2026, the lowest-priced was the KATSU 850W (£39.99), the cheapest cordless kit was the Innsky (£49.99), and the best-rated cordless tool was the Ryobi R18P-0 (4.7 from 540 ratings, £81.99, bare tool). Compare the orbit, pad size and what is in the box.

How much does a dual action polisher cost in the UK?

The seven models compared here cost from £39.99 to £102.73 on Amazon UK on 21 October 2026. That is the price of the machine; polish, pads and cloths may be extra.

Is a dual action polisher safe for beginners?

Makers say the oscillating action of a dual action machine reduces the risk of heat build-up, and these polishers are commonly recommended for beginners. They can still damage paint if misused, so follow the maker’s instructions and safety information.

What size backing plate is best for a beginner?

A 125mm (5 inch) or 150mm (6 inch) plate is the common starting point. The listings here include 125mm (Draper, Ryobi, SPTA), 150mm (KATSU, Storm Force, Innsky) and both 5-inch and 6-inch (V2). Detailers commonly say a larger plate covers panels faster and a smaller one reaches curves more easily.

Corded or cordless polisher: which is better?

Corded models give steady power for as long as you need, and cordless tools remove the cable and are limited by the battery. The Innsky lists up to one hour of total runtime on two batteries, and the Ryobi needs its own battery and charger.

Do polishers come with polish and pads?

Some come with pads, but none of the listings we read includes a compound or polish. The Innsky lists a 21-piece kit, the V2 lists two 5-inch pads, and the KATSU, Draper and Ryobi include one to three pads. Buy polish separately and follow its instructions.

Which dual action polisher should you buy?

If you want the lowest price on a corded machine, start with the KATSU 850W. For a cordless starter kit, the Innsky comes with two batteries and a 21-piece set, while the Ryobi R18P-0 is the better-rated choice if you already own Ryobi 18V batteries. The Draper 125mm and Storm Force are plain corded options, the Storm Force with a 150mm pad and a 24-month parts and 12-month labour warranty. The V2 is a 650W machine with a 9mm orbit and a one-year UK warranty (check which option you are buying), and the SPTA offers the longest listed orbit of the seven at 15mm. Check the orbit, pad size, cable or battery and what is in the box on the product page before you order.

Affiliate disclosure: The Motoring World may earn a commission if you buy through links to Amazon UK, at no extra cost to you. We link to Amazon UK because most readers shop there; prices may differ elsewhere.

Prices, ratings and specifications were taken from Amazon UK listings on 21 October 2026 and may have changed.