Best Home EV Chargers UK (2026): 7 Compared
Last updated 20 October 2026. Prices and ratings checked on Amazon UK that day.
The best home EV charger in the UK depends on your budget, whether you want a fixed cable and how much smart control you need. On Amazon UK, the 7kW-class wall chargers in this guide range from £230.99 (Masterplug, socketed) to £690 (Hypervolt Home 3 Pro), before installation. The evec VEC01 has the most Amazon ratings (205), and the Easee One has the highest rating among models with 20 or more ratings (4.6 from 26). Details are taken from Amazon listings checked on 20 October 2026.
All seven are wall units for Type 2 vehicles, listed at about 7kW (7.4kW or 32A on most listings), which is typical of single-phase units, although the listings do not all say so explicitly. Prices are for the charger only, not installation.
A home charger is mains electrical equipment that has to be fitted to your property, so this guide is a comparison of listings rather than installation or safety advice. Whichever model you choose, have it fitted by a qualified electrician and follow the manufacturer’s instructions. Prices and ratings change often, so confirm the current price on the product page.
Jump to: Quick picks · Comparison table · Buying guide · How we compiled this shortlist · FAQs · Which to buy
Best home EV chargers in the UK (2026): quick picks
These labels describe what each model is listed with. See how we compiled this shortlist for the method.
- Lowest price here, socketed (bring your own cable): Masterplug Smart EV Home Wall Charger, socket only (£230.99)
- Most Amazon ratings, with adjustable 3.7 to 7.4kW power: evec VEC01 (£242.85)
- Tethered counterpart of the Masterplug, with a 5m cable: Masterplug Smart EV Home Wall Charger, tethered (£273.99)
- Built-in RCD, emergency stop and 4.3-inch screen listed: techtron EV7 (£299.00)
- Highest rating among the models with 20 or more ratings: Easee One (£537.90)
- Alexa and Google Home listed: Wallbox Pulsar Max (£631.55)
- Octopus and OVO tariff compatibility listed: Hypervolt Home 3 Pro (£690.00)
Home EV chargers compared: price, ratings, cable and warranty (20 Oct 2026)
| Model | Price (20 Oct 2026) | Amazon rating | Listed power | Cable | Warranty (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Masterplug Smart EV Home Wall Charger, socket only | £230.99 | 4.4 (56) | 7.4kW (32A) | Socketed, no cable | 3 years |
| evec VEC01 | £242.85 | 4.4 (205) | 3.7 to 7.4kW adjustable | Untethered | 3 years |
| Masterplug Smart EV Home Wall Charger, tethered | £273.99 | 4.2 (93) | 7.4kW (32A) | 5m tethered | 3 years |
| techtron EV7 | £299.00 | 4.2 (27) | 7.4kW, 6 to 32A adjustable | 5m tethered | 3 years |
| Easee One | £537.90 | 4.6 (26) | 7.4kW | Tethered or untethered (listing says switchable) | “3-year” (wording incomplete) |
| Wallbox Pulsar Max | £631.55 | 4.2 (24) | 7.4kW | 5m | Not stated in the listing |
| Hypervolt Home 3 Pro | £690.00 | 5.0 (4, very small sample) | 7kW in the title (7.4kW rated per the technical table) | 5m tethered | 3 years |
Power, cable and warranty details are manufacturer claims taken from each Amazon UK listing, and listings differ in how much they state. Rating counts are low across the board (4 to 205), and the Hypervolt listing in particular has very few (4), so treat ratings as a rough guide only.
How to choose a home EV charger in the UK
Choosing a home EV charger: decide between tethered (fixed cable) and untethered (your own Type 2 cable), check the listed power (about 7kW is typical for single-phase homes), compare smart features and tariff compatibility, and have it fitted by a qualified electrician. Check GOV.UK for current rules and grants.
Tethered or untethered home EV charger: which should you choose?
A tethered charger has a charging cable permanently attached. The listings here mention 5m cables on the Masterplug tethered, techtron EV7, Wallbox Pulsar Max and Hypervolt. An untethered, or socketed, charger has a Type 2 socket and you plug in your own cable. The evec VEC01 and the socket-only Masterplug are listed this way, so budget for a suitable cable on top of the charger price. The Easee One listing says it can be tethered or untethered at the touch of a button.
How fast is a 7kW home EV charger?
Every charger here is listed at about 7kW (7.4kW or 32A on most listings). As a rough rule, the time to add charge is the energy you want to add, in kWh, divided by the charger’s power in kW. For example, adding 40kWh at 7.4kW takes about 5.4 hours. That is a best case. The car’s own onboard charger, battery state and temperature can all make it slower, and your home supply and installer will determine the maximum current that can be used.
Smart home EV chargers and off-peak tariffs
Most listings describe app control, scheduling and tariff features. The Masterplug listings mention the Sync app, Wi-Fi, LAN and Bluetooth, the evec listing a free evec app, the techtron listing compatibility with Economy 7, Octopus Go and other time-of-use tariffs, and the Hypervolt listing compatibility with Octopus and OVO. Several also list solar compatibility. Check that the app and tariff integrations match your energy supplier before you buy.
UK smart charge point rules and approvals: what the listings say
Under the Electric Vehicles (Smart Charge Points) Regulations 2021, most new home and workplace charge points sold in Great Britain must have smart functionality, and the rules for grants and approved products are set by the government, so check GOV.UK before you buy. The Masterplug listings say the units are compliant with the EV Smart Charge Point Regulations. The techtron listing says it is listed on the UK government’s approved charge point products list and that eligible customers may be able to apply for grants subject to current eligibility criteria. The evec listing lists CE and UKCA marks. These are manufacturer claims from the listings and we have not verified them independently, so confirm the details with the seller and your installer.
Home EV charger installation: use a qualified electrician
A home charger is permanently wired into your electrics, so it should be installed by a qualified electrician who can check your supply, earthing and consumer unit. The techtron listing itself says its built-in protection is “subject to site assessment and installation by a qualified electrician”. Installation is not included in the prices on this page, so get a quote before you decide.
Are home EV chargers weatherproof? IP ratings in the listings
Most of these listings say they can be used outdoors. The Masterplug listings give an IP55 rating and an operating range of -20°C to +55°C, and the evec listing also gives IP55 with -25 to 50°C. The techtron listing gives IP54 for the control box and IP67 for the charging gun, and the Easee and Wallbox listings give no IP rating. These are manufacturer claims, and the installer should confirm that the position you have in mind is suitable.
Home EV charger warranty and support
The Masterplug, evec, techtron and Hypervolt listings each state a three-year warranty, and the Easee listing refers to a “3-year” cover with the word warranty missing. The Wallbox listing does not state a warranty term in its text. Support also matters for a wired-in product, because an installer may need to deal with the manufacturer if there is a fault.
Masterplug Smart EV Home Wall Charger (socketed): lowest-priced here

Price: £230.99 | Amazon rating: 4.4 from 56 ratings
This is the lowest-priced charger here. The listing describes a Mode 3 wall charger with a socketed design, LED indicator and auto-lock, up to 7.4kW (32A) and Wi-Fi, LAN and Bluetooth control through the Sync app. It lists IP55 weather protection, an operating range of -20°C to +55°C and a solar charging function, and says it complies with the EV Smart Charge Point Regulations. It includes a three-year manufacturer’s warranty and a fixing template, and weighs 2.35kg per the listing. It is a socket-only unit, so you need to add a Type 2 charging cable of your own.
Check the Masterplug socket-only charger on Amazon UK
evec VEC01: most-rated model, with adjustable power

Price: £242.85 | Amazon rating: 4.4 from 205 ratings
The VEC01 has the most ratings of any charger here, although 205 is still a modest number. The listing describes an untethered wall charger with power adjustable from 3.7kW to 7.4kW, support for Type 1 and Type 2 connectors, IP55 protection, a free evec app for monitoring and scheduling, and built-in PEN protection. It lists CE and UKCA marks, a three-year warranty, and a box that includes an installation manual and installation kit. It is untethered, so you supply the charging cable. The listing’s electrical specifications, such as the output voltage of 218.75 volts, differ from the nominal 230V, so ask the seller or installer to confirm the details.
Check the evec VEC01 on Amazon UK
Masterplug Smart EV Home Wall Charger (tethered): 5m cable

Price: £273.99 | Amazon rating: 4.2 from 93 ratings
This is the tethered counterpart in Masterplug’s range (a separate listing with its own model number), with a 5m cable attached. The listing shares the socket-only model’s headline specifications: 7.4kW (32A), Sync app control over Wi-Fi, LAN and Bluetooth, IP55 protection, solar charging and a three-year warranty, and it also says it is compliant with the EV Smart Charge Point Regulations. It weighs 3.7kg per the listing. The £43 price gap is between two separately listed models, not just the cable. Its 4.2 rating from 93 ratings is lower than the socketed version’s 4.4 from 56, though both are small samples.
Check the Masterplug tethered charger on Amazon UK
techtron EV7: built-in RCD, emergency stop and 4.3-inch screen

Price: £299.00 | Amazon rating: 4.2 from 27 ratings
The techtron EV7 lists a long feature set for its price: a 5m tethered Type 2 cable, adjustable 6 to 32A output, a 4.3-inch LCD, RFID access, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth app control, a built-in RCD and PEN fault protection, and an emergency stop button. The listing says it is on the UK government’s approved charge point list and a three-year warranty applies. It also says the built-in protection is subject to site assessment and installation by a qualified electrician. The specification table lists CE, FCC and UL rather than UKCA, and the input and output voltages shown (265V and 275V) differ from the nominal 230V, so confirm details with the seller and your installer before ordering. Its 4.2 rating comes from 27 ratings.
Check the techtron EV7 on Amazon UK
Easee One: highest-rated here (26 Amazon ratings)

Price: £537.90 | Amazon rating: 4.6 from 26 ratings
The Easee One has the highest rating here apart from the four-rating Hypervolt, though 26 ratings is still a small sample. The listing describes a Red Dot award-winning charger designed and made in Norway, 7.4kW Type 2, Wi-Fi with a free eSIM, OCPP, indoor or outdoor installation and a choice of tethered or untethered at the touch of a button. It says the Easee app lets you schedule charges, adjust charging power and manage who can access the charger, and refers to a “3-year” cover for all Easee products (the word “warranty” is missing from the listing text). The Amazon specification table for this listing is wrong in several fields (it shows a Lightning connector and phone compatibility), so rely on the title and description and check the details with the seller.
Check the Easee One on Amazon UK
Wallbox Pulsar Max: Alexa and Google Home listed

Price: £631.55 | Amazon rating: 4.2 from 24 ratings
The Pulsar Max is a 7.4kW Type 2 charger with a 5m cable, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and OCPP, listed for indoor or outdoor use. The listing says it is compatible with Alexa and Google Home, supports charging schedules in the Wallbox app, and can charge from excess solar. It describes charging as up to 8 times faster than a standard power outlet, which is a manufacturer claim. It weighs 6kg and the box includes the charger, a socket holder, the cable and an opening card. The listing does not state a warranty term, and its 4.2 rating comes from only 24 ratings. Other Wallbox Pulsar Max listings on Amazon UK (different output or cable length) show different prices and ratings, so check you are viewing the right one.
Check the Wallbox Pulsar Max on Amazon UK
Hypervolt Home 3 Pro: Octopus and OVO tariff compatibility listed

Price: £690.00 | Amazon rating: 5.0 from 4 ratings (very small sample)
The Hypervolt Home 3 Pro is the most expensive model here. The listing describes a 7kW smart charger with a 5m tethered Type 2 cable, solar compatibility, app control and compatibility with Octopus and OVO tariffs, and gives a three-year warranty. The listing’s 5.0 rating comes from just four ratings, which tells you very little, and Hypervolt also lists longer-cable and other colour versions at higher prices (at higher prices in the Amazon listings on 20 October 2026), so match cable length and colour when comparing. It is listed at about the same power as the cheaper models, so the extra cost goes on other things, such as the brand, app and listed features, rather than a faster charge.
Check the Hypervolt Home 3 Pro on Amazon UK
How we compiled this shortlist
This is a research-based shortlist. Everything above comes from Amazon UK listings and manufacturer claims on those pages, checked on 20 October 2026, apart from the general buying advice and the charging-time arithmetic.
We started with Amazon UK, where most British buyers will shop, and looked at 7kW-class, single-phase wall chargers for Type 2 vehicles. We left out portable cables and plug-in adapters, which are a different product with different considerations, and listings that were too sparse to compare. We compared each listing’s stated specifications, the manufacturer’s claims on that page, and the customer rating and number of ratings shown at the time. We included a spread of price points. Many listings here have few ratings, and several contradict themselves in their specification tables, which are flagged where it matters.
Popular brands such as Ohme, Myenergi Zappi, Pod Point and Andersen are not part of this shortlist, which covers only the listings compared here. Ratings also move over time, and a high score from a handful of reviews tells you far less than a high score from thousands. This guide does not cover installation costs, grants or tariff comparisons, which depend on your home and supplier. We will update this guide when prices, ratings or availability change.
Home EV charger FAQs (UK)
What is the best home EV charger in the UK?
It depends on your budget, cable preference and smart-tariff needs. Of the seven here, the Masterplug socket-only model is the cheapest at £230.99, the evec VEC01 has the most ratings, and the Easee One has the highest rating of the models with 20 or more ratings, though all the samples are small.
Do I need a tethered or untethered charger?
A tethered charger has a fixed cable, which is convenient. An untethered one has a socket and you plug in your own Type 2 cable, which can be swapped if you change car. Check whether the price you are comparing includes a cable.
How fast is a 7kW home charger?
Divide the energy you want to add by the charger’s power: adding 40kWh at 7.4kW takes about 5.4 hours in the best case. Your car’s onboard charger and your home supply can make it slower.
Can I install a home EV charger myself?
A home charger is permanently wired into your electrics and should be installed by a qualified electrician. The techtron listing itself says its protection features are subject to installation by a qualified electrician.
Are home EV chargers waterproof?
Several listings give IP ratings for outdoor use, such as IP55 for the Masterplug and evec models. Ask your installer to confirm that the position you have in mind is suitable for the model.
Do I need a smart charger?
Smart features such as scheduling and tariff integration can help you charge at off-peak times, and Great Britain rules cover smart functionality for most new home charge points. Check GOV.UK and the product documentation for the current requirements.
Can I get a grant for a home EV charger?
GOV.UK’s EV chargepoint grant is aimed at renters and flat owners (and some on-street cases), so many owner-occupiers of houses will not qualify. Check GOV.UK for current eligibility, which includes an eligible chargepoint model and an authorised installer. The techtron listing says eligible customers may be able to apply for available grants, subject to the current criteria.
Is a home EV charger better than charging from a 3-pin plug?
Check your vehicle handbook and GOV.UK guidance, which generally point to a dedicated charge point installed by a qualified electrician for regular home charging. The Wallbox listing claims charging up to 8 times faster than a standard power outlet, which is a manufacturer claim.
Do I need a special tariff to charge an EV at home?
Not necessarily, but time-of-use tariffs can make overnight charging cheaper. The techtron listing mentions Economy 7 and Octopus Go compatibility, and the Hypervolt listing mentions Octopus and OVO. Compare current tariff rates on your supplier’s website, since they change often.
Are the prices on this page up to date?
They were accurate on Amazon UK on 20 October 2026. Prices change frequently, so use the links to see the current price.
Which home EV charger should you choose?
If you want the lowest price and are happy to supply your own cable, the socket-only Masterplug is the cheapest here, and the tethered Masterplug model, which has a 5m cable, is about £43 more. The evec VEC01 has the most ratings and adjustable power from 3.7 to 7.4kW. The techtron EV7 lists a long feature set for under £300, while the Easee One, Wallbox Pulsar Max and Hypervolt Home 3 Pro sit at the premium end, with the Easee One the highest rated of the three among those with more than a handful of ratings (Hypervolt’s 5.0 rests on four ratings). Whichever you choose, get a quote from a qualified electrician, confirm what is included, and check the current GOV.UK requirements before you order.
Affiliate disclosure: The Motoring World may earn a commission if you buy through links to Amazon UK, at no extra cost to you. We link to Amazon UK because most readers shop there; prices may differ elsewhere.
Prices, ratings and specifications were taken from Amazon UK listings on 20 October 2026 and may have changed.
