Best Portable EV Charger (Granny Cable) UK 2026: 7 Compared

By The Motoring World · 23 October 2026

Last updated 23 October 2026. Prices and ratings checked on Amazon UK that day.

A granny cable is a portable EV charger with a 3-pin plug that lets you charge a plug-in car from a standard UK socket. Of the seven we compared on Amazon UK on 23 October 2026 (£84.99 to £129.99), our pick from the listings is the dé 10m charger with app (£129.95): the highest rating among models with more than 200 ratings (4.8 from 467), with a listed built-in Type A 30mA RCD with 6mA DC protection. The GONEO 5m (£89.98) is the lower-priced alternative. Before you buy, follow the manufacturer’s instructions and ask a qualified electrician about your socket and circuit. Our method is below.

Best granny cable at a glance

  • Most ratings with a 13A setting: the EzGoGo 10m (£129.99, 4.5 from 785 ratings), which lists adjustable 6, 8, 10 and 13A currents and overheating protection but states no RCD rating; the maker describes 13A as for occasional use.
  • Our pick (highest rating with more than 200 ratings, listed RCD): the dé 10m charger with app (£129.95, 4.8 from 467 ratings), which lists a built-in Type A 30mA RCD with 6mA DC protection and an IP66 control unit.
  • Lower-priced pick (temperature monitoring and earth check listed): the GONEO 5m (£89.98, 4.3 from 212 ratings).
  • UK-brand listing with a listed RCD: the Masterplug 10m (£119.99, 4.2 from 422 ratings), with a 2.4kW maximum and a listed 30mA AC and 6mA DC RCD.
  • Before you buy: follow the manufacturer’s instructions and ask a qualified electrician to check your socket and circuit.

Jump to: What a granny cable does · Check the socket first · Safety features to look for · Chargers compared · Comparison table · How we chose these chargers · FAQs · Verdict

What a granny cable does

A granny cable, also called a Mode 2 or portable charger, has a 3-pin UK plug on one end, a control box in the middle and a Type 2 connector for the car on the other end. The control box manages the charging. The listings give maximum currents of 10A (about 2.3 to 2.4kW) or 13A (about 3kW), and several let you select a lower current. At these power levels they are slower than a fitted wall charger.

Check the socket and circuit first

Because these chargers run for hours at a sustained current, the manufacturers’ instructions matter. The listings disagree. The Masterplug listing says that for optimum performance you should connect to a dedicated and suitable EV mains socket marked for EV charging, and the Masterplug and EVDANCE listings say standard sockets are not built for sustained EV charging. The EzGoGo listing recommends a new wall socket, to prevent loose connections and heat build-up. Other listings, such as the GONEO and dé, describe plugging into a standard UK 3-pin socket. Because manufacturers differ, follow the instructions for your charger and ask a qualified electrician to check the socket and circuit before you use a portable charger regularly. Check the manufacturer’s instructions on extension leads and adaptors.

Granny cable safety features to look for

The listings describe these protections, and they are manufacturers’ claims:

  • Leakage (RCD) protection: the Masterplug lists 30mA AC and 6mA DC RCD, the dé lists a Type A 30mA RCD with 6mA DC protection, the GONEO lists AC 30mA plus DC 6mA leakage detection, and the EVDANCE lists 30mA AC leakage protection. The Cord Lite listing does not state any RCD or leakage protection; its description mentions over/under-voltage and overtemperature protection.
  • Earth checks: the GONEO lists an automatic earth check every time the plug is connected, with a red indicator if there is a fault. A charger’s own check does not replace having the socket checked by an electrician.
  • PEN fault protection: the Masterplug and EVDANCE list this, which is a different feature from an earth check; the listings do not explain what it covers.
  • Temperature monitoring: the GONEO lists temperature sensors in the plug and control box that reduce output if overheating is detected. The EzGoGo and dé list overheating protection, and the EVDANCE lists an overheating cutoff.
  • Weather protection: the listings give IP65 (EzGoGo, Cord Lite), IP66 (Masterplug when connected, dé control unit, EVDANCE control box). The dé lists IP54 for its connector.

The Vorsprung listing describes leakage, overcharge and under-voltage protection but does not give an RCD rating, so check the manual for what it specifies.

The 7 best portable EV chargers (granny cables) reviewed

These are ordered by price. Labels describe what each listing says, and ratings are shown with their sample sizes. See how we chose these chargers for the method.

EVDANCE 6m Mode 2 cable: lowest price, 10A

EVDANCE Mode 2 EV charging cable with control box

Price: £84.99  |  Amazon rating: 4.6 from 78 ratings

The EVDANCE is the lowest-priced charger here. The listing describes a Mode 2 Type 2 cable that operates from -30°C to +50°C, a 6m cable, an IP66 control box, a live LCD display and safety features including PEN fault detection, over and under voltage protection, an overheating cutoff and 30mA AC leakage protection. It lists up to 10A (2.4kW) and a two-year warranty. The listing gives no DC leakage rating, so check the manual.

Check the EVDANCE charging cable on Amazon UK

GONEO 5m portable charger: temperature monitoring and earth detection

GONEO portable EV charger with 3-pin UK plug and Type 2 connector

Price: £89.98  |  Amazon rating: 4.3 from 212 ratings

The GONEO lists more safety features than the other lower-priced chargers. The listing describes temperature sensors in the plug and control box, AC 30mA plus DC 6mA leakage detection, an automatic earth check each time the plug is connected, an LED display and selectable 6A, 8A and 10A modes with a delay timer. It lists a 5m cable, 10A (2.3kW), a carrying bag and a two-year manufacturer warranty. The listing also says the actual charging current may be lower than the setting.

Check the GONEO portable EV charger on Amazon UK

Cord Lite 5m: 10A, 5m cable

Cord Lite Type 2 portable EV charger, 5 metre, with UK 3-pin plug

Price: £99.00  |  Amazon rating: 4.8 from 16 ratings

The Cord Lite is a 5m, 10A (2.3kW) charger. The listing describes a 70cm internal lead to the plug, a carry bag, IP65 and IK10 ratings, and compatibility with Type 2 vehicles since 2018. The listing states no RCD or earth-fault protection; its description mentions over/under-voltage and overtemperature protection, so ask the seller or check the manual. The bullets say a three-year warranty while the specification table says one year, so check the warranty. Its 4.8 rating comes from only 16 ratings.

Check the Cord Lite charger on Amazon UK

Vorsprung 10m portable charger: adjustable up to 13A

Vorsprung portable Type 2 EV charger with 10 metre cable and digital control screen

Price: £119.95  |  Amazon rating: 4.3 from 283 ratings

The Vorsprung lists adjustable currents of 6A, 8A, 10A and 13A. The listing describes a 10m cable, a digital control screen, a delay charging function, an LED indicator, a free carry case and a cable that it says stays flexible in rain and sub-zero temperatures. It describes leakage, overcharge and under-voltage protection but gives no RCD rating, and lists 3.26kg. The seller is Vorsprung. The listing gives 3.3kW in the bullets and 3.1kW in the colour field, so check the maximum power.

Check the Vorsprung portable EV charger on Amazon UK

Masterplug 10m Mode 2 cable: 2.4kW with a delay function

Masterplug 10 metre Mode 2 EV charging cable with 3-pin UK plug

Price: £119.99  |  Amazon rating: 4.2 from 422 ratings

The Masterplug is sold under the UK brand Masterplug. The listing describes a 13A UK plug, a 6A default with selectable 8A or 10A (2.4kW) maximum, a delay charging function, an LCD status display and IP66 (when connected to a vehicle) or IP65 (with the end cap applied). It lists safety protection for PEN fault, over and under voltage, thermal overload and a 30mA AC and 6mA DC RCD, and a one-year manufacturer’s warranty. It advises connecting to a dedicated and suitable EV mains socket.

Check the Masterplug 10m charging cable on Amazon UK

dé 10m charger with app: highest rated with more than 200 ratings

dé 10m portable EV charger (granny cable) with app control

Price: £129.95  |  Amazon rating: 4.8 from 467 ratings

The dé has the highest rating among the chargers with more than 200 ratings. The listing describes button control or app control through the Tuya Smart or Smart Life app, adjustable 6, 8, 10 and 13A currents, a delay timer from 0.5 to 8 hours, a 10m cable and a kit with a waterproof cover, wall bracket, cable holder and carrying bag. It lists an IP66 control unit and an IP54 Type 2 connector, a built-in Type A 30mA RCD with 6mA DC protection and a two-year warranty. The listing notes you should avoid prolonged exposure to heavy rain or standing water.

Check the dé EV charger with app on Amazon UK

EzGoGo 10m 3kW charger: most ratings, adjustable up to 13A

EzGoGo Type 2 to 3 pin EV charging cable with LCD display

Price: £129.99  |  Amazon rating: 4.5 from 785 ratings

The EzGoGo has the most ratings of the seven chargers. The listing describes an LCD display, adjustable currents of 6, 8, 10 and 13A, scheduled charging from 1 to 12 hours, a 10m TPU cable, IP65 and protection against overcurrent, overvoltage, overheating and short circuits, with a two-year guarantee. It lists 3,000 watts. The specification table gives 16 amps against 13A in the title and bullets, and lists CE, RoHS and WEEE, while the bullets add UKCA. It says the 13A setting is for occasional fast charging, and recommends a new wall socket to avoid overheating. The listing does not state an RCD rating.

Check the EzGoGo 10m charger on Amazon UK

Granny cable comparison table

The table below compares the seven chargers by price, rating sample, cable length, listed current and the leakage protection each listing states.

Portable EV chargers with a 3-pin plug on Amazon UK, 23 October 2026, sorted by price
Model Price (23 Oct 2026) Rating (count) Cable Listed current Listed leakage protection Listed warranty
EVDANCE 6m £84.99 4.6 (78) 6m 10A 30mA AC 2 years
GONEO 5m £89.98 4.3 (212) 5m 6, 8 or 10A 30mA AC + 6mA DC 2 years
Cord Lite 5m £99.00 4.8 (16) 5m 10A Not stated 1 or 3 years (listing differs)
Vorsprung 10m £119.95 4.3 (283) 10m 6, 8, 10 or 13A Leakage protection (rating not stated) Not listed
Masterplug 10m £119.99 4.2 (422) 10m 6, 8 or 10A 30mA AC + 6mA DC 1 year
dé 10m with app £129.95 4.8 (467) 10m 6, 8, 10 or 13A Type A 30mA + 6mA DC 2 years
EzGoGo 10m £129.99 4.5 (785) 10m 6, 8, 10 or 13A Not stated 2 years

How we chose these chargers

We searched Amazon UK for portable EV chargers with a UK 3-pin plug and a Type 2 connector and picked seven that cover a range of cable lengths, currents and brands. We took prices, ratings, specifications and safety descriptions from the Amazon UK listings on 23 October 2026, and the figures here are the listings’ own claims. Ratings are shown with their sample size, and Amazon often shares ratings across length variants of a listing, so a rating may not relate only to the length shown. Five of the seven have more than 100 ratings, so treat the Cord Lite and the EVDANCE scores as early signals. We left out fitted wall chargers and Type 2 to Type 2 cables, which are not 3-pin chargers. Prices change often, so use the links to see the current price. We review this guide periodically.

Granny cable FAQs

What is the best portable EV charger granny cable?

The dé 10m charger with app (£129.95) is our pick from the listings: the highest rating (4.8 from 467 ratings) among models with more than 200 ratings, with a listed Type A 30mA RCD and 6mA DC protection. The GONEO 5m (£89.98) is the lower-priced alternative, and the EzGoGo (£129.99) has the most ratings.

What is a granny charger?

It is a portable EV charger with a 3-pin plug that connects to a standard UK socket and charges a car through a Type 2 connector. The listings here give maximum currents of 10A or 13A.

Can I plug a granny cable into any socket?

Follow the manufacturer’s instructions. The Masterplug listing advises a dedicated and suitable EV mains socket, and the EzGoGo listing recommends a new wall socket. Ask a qualified electrician to check your socket and circuit.

How long does it take to charge an EV with a granny cable?

It depends on the charger’s current setting and your car. The listings give a maximum of 10A (about 2.3 to 2.4kW) or 13A (about 3kW). The EVDANCE listing says about 8 miles of range per hour at 10A, which is the seller’s figure, and the GONEO listing says the actual current may be lower than the setting. Check your car’s manual and the charger’s instructions.

Do granny chargers have built-in RCD protection?

Most listings here describe leakage protection: the Masterplug, dé and GONEO list 30mA AC with 6mA DC, and the EVDANCE lists 30mA AC. The EzGoGo, Cord Lite and Vorsprung listings do not state an RCD rating. Check the manual.

Can I use a granny charger in the rain?

Some listings give IP65 or IP66 ratings for the control box or cable, and the dé lists IP54 for its connector; the GONEO and Vorsprung listings give no IP rating. These are manufacturers’ claims and do not describe the wall socket or plug connection. The dé listing says to avoid prolonged exposure to heavy rain or standing water. Follow each manufacturer’s instructions, and ask a qualified electrician about outdoor sockets.

What is the cheapest granny cable?

The cheapest granny cable we compared is the EVDANCE 6m at £84.99 on 23 October 2026, followed by the GONEO 5m at £89.98.

Are granny chargers safe to use?

Safety depends on the charger, the socket and the circuit. The listings describe protections such as RCD leakage protection, earth checks and temperature monitoring, which are manufacturers’ claims. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions and ask a qualified electrician to check your socket and circuit.

Verdict: which granny cable to choose

Follow the manufacturer’s instructions and ask a qualified electrician to check your socket and circuit first. The lowest price is the EVDANCE (£84.99). For a lower price with listed temperature monitoring and an earth check, look at the GONEO (£89.98). For the highest rating among chargers with more than 200 ratings and a listed RCD, the dé (£129.95). For a cable from a UK brand with a listed RCD, the Masterplug (£119.99), and for the most ratings and a 13A setting, the EzGoGo (£129.99), noting that it states no RCD rating. Check each listing’s safety features, cable length and warranty, and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

Affiliate disclosure: The Motoring World may earn a commission if you buy through links to Amazon UK, at no extra cost to you. We link to Amazon UK; prices may differ elsewhere.

Prices, ratings and specifications were taken from Amazon UK listings on 23 October 2026 and may have changed.